Too good to be true?

  1. Welcome to Audi R8 Forum : Audi R8 forums – General discussion forum for Audi R8

    Welcome to Audi R8 Forum : Audi R8 forums - a website dedicated to all things Audi R8.

    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join Audi R8 Forum : Audi R8 forums today!
     
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Too good to be true?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Montreal & Boston
    Posts
    761

    Too good to be true?

    Hi guys,

    A cousin of mine overseas is looking to buy a R8 and being cheaper in the USA, I decided to look 1 for him; I came across this:

    http://www.cars.com/go/search/detail...eadExists=true

    This is a fully loaded 09, it has all the options one can order with the R8 and the car only has 1123 miles.

    I emailed to ask availability and the person in charge responded that they're car brokers and that the R8 is priced low for quick sale.

    Something grabbed my attention (I have a bionic vision ), on the picture below



    You can (clearly) see that the mileage of the car is of 2 digits (I see something like "48") while it should have 4 digits since it's listed at 1123 miles.

    The car looks immaculate, no doubt but I am thinking it's "too good to be true" ...

    Any thoughts? Opinion? Feedback?
    Last edited by HovyR8; 04-04-2009 at 08:45 PM.
    2009 audi r8 (gone)
    2010 mb g55
    2010 bentley gt speed
    2011 911 turbo S

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Audi R8 Forum
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member swansailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Los Gatos, CA
    Posts
    582

    Re: Too good to be true?

    Maybe it is an old photo ... perhaps taken when the car was first delivered?

  4. #3
    Senior Member harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Pacific Mtn,Cal.(X ) Arizona ( )
    Posts
    5,080

    Re: Too good to be true?

    My bionic vision sees 27,Maybe an older photo
    GONE-BUT NEVER FORGOTTEN '8,R8 V8,Paddles,Mag ride,Jet-Blue/Carbon blades,Smoke chrome OEM 5 spokes & Lambo S.L. whls,Miltek exh.PPI Steering whl,rear wing,front grill,air filter kit.C.F.interior trim,V10 sideskirts,premium black leather,B&O,navi,camara. KEEPURSHINEYSIDEUP/STICKYSIDEDOWN VIDEO:R8 in CANYON video ... janerinsurance.com/r8 ...\"/

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Montreal & Boston
    Posts
    761

    Re: Too good to be true?

    That's what I thought first. Pics were taken when car was delivered.


    Quote Originally Posted by harrison View Post
    My bionic vision sees 27,Maybe an older photo
    1st line: trip miles - 2.7
    2nd line: car miles - 48 something
    Last edited by HovyR8; 04-04-2009 at 09:21 PM.
    2009 audi r8 (gone)
    2010 mb g55
    2010 bentley gt speed
    2011 911 turbo S

  6. #5
    Senior Member 09R8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    438

    Re: Too good to be true?

    Just ask if it's a current photo and if not, take one of the current mileage and VIN
    '11 Rosso 458 Italia
    '05 Black Carrera GT
    '10 DG R8 V10

    *Sold
    '08 ClK63 BS
    '04 Gallardo E-gear
    '03 Rosso Corsa 360 Modena
    '07 RS4
    '06 RR Supercharged

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Valencia Ca.
    Posts
    137

    Re: Too good to be true?

    SCAMMER ALERT!

    I looked into this one last week. If you click see all used inventory every car listed is a scam. Every picture is different location. R8 VIN listed when googled comes up to dealership in Houston. Also ran VIN on auto check and car is out of Texas. This is the R8 Vin Listed.....http://www.momentumvolvo.net/used-in...4f13ab255e0d2#


    Also on his inventory is BLACK Cadillac Escalade EXT VIN on Auto check comes up as New Jersey. Googled VIN listed is this....http://www.easyautosales.com/used-ca...n-7644785.html

    Enzo listing is also a good one http://www.cars.com/go/search/detail...geNumber=0&num

    I can't believe Cars.com allows these scammers to operate to this extent. The guy has a large inventory listed. This is an easy one to figure out. All adds were probably paid for with stolen credit card. They never answer the phone number listed.

  8. #7
    Senior Member ShelbyGirl1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Texas-USA
    Posts
    180

    Re: Too good to be true?

    The guys at Momentum are on the up and up. We have purchased 2 Porsches and the Ferrari from them...Actually the Ferrari was at this particular dealership. If you want the name of a decent salesman who knows his stuff...I'll be happy to give it to you.
    2009 R8-Ice Silver/Carbon blade-6spd (sold)

    2006 F430 Ferrari-spider-F1 (sold)
    2009 AM DBS
    2011 V10 R8 Spyder-6spd
    2011 BMW Z4 sDrive 3.5is
    1967 BB Corvette Stingray

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Montreal & Boston
    Posts
    761

    Re: Too good to be true?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    SCAMMER ALERT!

    I looked into this one last week. If you click see all used inventory every car listed is a scam. Every picture is different location. R8 VIN listed when googled comes up to dealership in Houston. Also ran VIN on auto check and car is out of Texas. This is the R8 Vin Listed.....http://www.momentumvolvo.net/used-in...4f13ab255e0d2#


    Also on his inventory is BLACK Cadillac Escalade EXT VIN on Auto check comes up as New Jersey. Googled VIN listed is this....http://www.easyautosales.com/used-ca...n-7644785.html

    Enzo listing is also a good one http://www.cars.com/go/search/detail...geNumber=0&num

    I can't believe Cars.com allows these scammers to operate to this extent. The guy has a large inventory listed. This is an easy one to figure out. All adds were probably paid for with stolen credit card. They never answer the phone number listed.

    I kind of sensed the scam too. I'd rather pay an additional 20K and be peace minded. Anyway, I am looking for a MT6 not R-Tronic.
    2009 audi r8 (gone)
    2010 mb g55
    2010 bentley gt speed
    2011 911 turbo S

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Valencia Ca.
    Posts
    137

    Re: Too good to be true?

    Quote Originally Posted by HovyR8 View Post
    I kind of sensed the scam too. I'd rather pay an additional 20K and be peace minded. Anyway, I am looking for a MT6 not R-Tronic.
    I would be hesitant to buy R8 from anywhere but an Audi dealer. To many scams out there.

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Montreal & Boston
    Posts
    761

    Re: Too good to be true?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    I would be hesitant to buy R8 from anywhere but an Audi dealer. To many scams out there.
    That's what I will do. I wanted to share this with members.
    2009 audi r8 (gone)
    2010 mb g55
    2010 bentley gt speed
    2011 911 turbo S

  12. Remove Advertisements
    Audi R8 Forum
    Advertisements
     

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Similar Threads

  1. True Dedication
    By desperado in forum Off Topic Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-21-2011, 07:57 PM
  2. My dream come true!
    By KADWAR in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 01-19-2008, 11:19 AM
  3. R8 - pic of the true LED headlights
    By N1JEE in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-28-2007, 01:33 PM
  4. rumor mill ???? Turbo !!!! false or true
    By Ti-Mike in forum Performance Modifications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-14-2007, 11:52 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.1.2