Scam or a great deal

  1. Welcome to Audi R8 Forum : Audi R8 forums – General discussion forum for Audi R8

    Welcome to Audi R8 Forum : Audi R8 forums - a website dedicated to all things Audi R8.

    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join Audi R8 Forum : Audi R8 forums today!
     
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Scam or a great deal

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    West Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    3

    Scam or a great deal

    Hi everyone, I have been lurking around enjoying all the posts while shopping for my r8. I came across this one for sale on Car.com in Arizona:

    Selling Points: 2009 AUDI R8, V10 manual 3250 mi Fully Equipped. 19" wheels brown leather int. 1owner NS Clean Title. $69,000 nkhk77@me.com

    Condition: Interior 6 speed manual gear box Alcantara molded headlining Fine napa leather sear covering Leather heated seats Leather trimmed steering wheel Navigation system with color screen Exterior 19 inch wheels Carbon Fiber Engine Cover Drivetrain 6Speed Manual


    Here is the email the seller sent me:

    The car is still for sale and the asking price is $69,000, it is registered on my name and the title is clear. I'm a pilot on cargo flights, and I away from home most of the time, so the car was barely driven as my wife does not have a license. I am selling cheaper than the rest as you can see because I need cash fast, as I need to pay for my wife's liver transplant, so please no loans or payments plans offers. Because I'm away most of the time I will not be able to deal in person, but I've already arranged the shipping and the title transfer anywhere in the US. I will pay the shipping fees. If you are still interested please email me back so I can explain how we can do this without me being present.

    Does this sound too good to be true?

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Audi R8 Forum
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    19

    Re: Scam or a great deal

    definitely a scam!
    my brother almost got sucked into it.
    deal was for a land rover defender, and location was in the philippines but far from the city really cheap and ready to ship.
    after he asked for more questions, seller disappeared.
    conditions were all the same as stated.
    very disgusting how these people operate!
    so beware!

    but if you have some spare time, why dont you dig into it more so we can learn more how these f*#@ers operate!
    Last edited by candyman168; 05-24-2011 at 09:08 AM.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Southern Calif
    Posts
    16
    Scam. I got the exact same email. I've run across scams like this before. The common theme is that they cannot meet you in person to do the deal.

    The price is way too good to be true.

  5. #4
    Senior Member NVRL8R8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Chicagoland area
    Posts
    1,350

    Re: Scam or a great deal

    No offense, but I can't believe you're even asking this question. It would take 90k to be any where near being a great deal.
    2010 Ibis white/Audi exclusive leather w/Alcantera inserts. ~HRE M40's ~Quicksilver titanium exhaust ~Bunch of MaCarbon interior bits ~

  6. #5
    Senior Member CALBenzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    453

    Re: Scam or a great deal

    Even $90K would be too good to be true for the V10. Perhaps $115K-$120K before I would not think scam.
    2009 Silver/Black V10 MT; De-Chromed; Carbon Fiber Exterior Package, Lighted CF Sills, CF Sideblades, CF Engine Trim, CF Steering Wheel, CF Mirrors, CF Door Handles and CF Interior Inlays; Enhanced Leather; Alcantara Headliner; Black Optic Grille; Meisterschaft GT Racing Titanium Exhaust; APR ECU Remap; Sprintbooster; H&R Lowered; Clear bra; and HRE P43s

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    1,063

    Re: Scam or a great deal

    Ask for his bank account details, let's see which country the money is going to

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    West Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    3

    Re: Scam or a great deal

    Since it's likely a scam, I will not spend anymore time responding to the seller. Thanks for your replies... now I need to keep searching for my dream car.

  9. #8
    Senior Member NVRL8R8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Chicagoland area
    Posts
    1,350

    Re: Scam or a great deal

    Quote Originally Posted by CALBenzo View Post
    Even $90K would be too good to be true for the V10. Perhaps $115K-$120K before I would not think scam.
    I stand corrected. Didn't see that it was a V10! Regardless, as mentioned, even our stated numbers would be too good to be true.
    2010 Ibis white/Audi exclusive leather w/Alcantera inserts. ~HRE M40's ~Quicksilver titanium exhaust ~Bunch of MaCarbon interior bits ~

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    1,063

    Re: Scam or a great deal

    Ok, what does come to mind though is that you alert the operators of cars.com and save possibly one person serious grief.

  11. #10
    Member spyder ned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Naples, Florida
    Posts
    58

    Re: Scam or a great deal

    The operators at cars .com could care less. I almost lost $50,000.00 on a Ferrari F430. The deal was obviously too good to be true but I put the money in what I thought was a safe escrow account with Google Checkout. It was a sophisticated scam and luckily I got all the money back. A few weeks later, I saw the exact same ad with the same pictures
    of the same F430. I contacted the FBI and Cars.Com. These ads come up all the time and they are usually only on for one or a few days at a time. I wouldn't trust any on line escrow account.

  12. Remove Advertisements
    Audi R8 Forum
    Advertisements
     

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Similar Threads

  1. Did I get a good deal?
    By IbisWhiteR8 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12-06-2011, 09:50 PM
  2. Scam?
    By mark25 in forum Performance Modifications
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-20-2011, 01:51 PM
  3. Did I get a good deal?
    By tomdfw1 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-17-2011, 12:59 PM
  4. Daytona Grey side blades.... for sale, great deal
    By russman in forum For Sale - Parts
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-08-2009, 06:39 PM
  5. Is 10k over on an '09 a good deal?
    By gsmps in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-16-2008, 07:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.1.2