Audi R8 Forums banner

Audi R8 V10 vs Porsche 911 Turbo S: Newbie needs help:-)

28K views 16 replies 8 participants last post by  Treviso 
#1 ·
HI,
I am new to this forum and I would like to introduce myself. My name is Rob and I have been into sports cars for a number of years, but I come from the Viper/Corvette world and I am new to driving these European Supercars. I will be purchasing my next car new. Here is my delemma:
I have been going back and forth between buying an Audi R8 V10 Spyder vs a Porsche 911 Turbo S Cabriolet and I would love to hear some opinions from owners. I know that many of you have had both and I would love to hear your thoughts.
I have recently driven both cars and they are both very impressive in different ways. The R8 V10 Spyder was an R-tronic, rather than a Manual, but my preference is for a Manual tranny. I keep reading about some of the manual transmissions being problematic and notchy with sketchy Audi service. Is is fact? Also, these R8s require specially trained techs to work on them, correct? Are they difficult to find? Finally, are ceramic brakes a must on the R8? Please help with some thoughts.

#2 ·
I have driven both.

Turbo S is automatic only and a real beast, one of the fastest cars in the world. But its still a 911 and hardly anyone will even realize this a is a special Porsche.

The Audi R8 is a very classy car, exudes class. There is no mistake when someone see this car that it is unique. Not nearly as fast to 60 or in the quarter mile as the Turbo S but who cares?

Dont buy the V10 Roadster for the track or for setting 0 to 60 records, buy it to own one heck of a beautiful comfortable, fast, all around great car.

If you are into brute speed buy the Turbo S. That automatic will get boring real quickly. The Audi MT is the most fun exciting part of the R8 experience IMO.

#3 ·