Scam?

  1. Welcome to Audi R8 Forum : Audi R8 forums – General discussion forum for Audi R8

    Welcome to Audi R8 Forum : Audi R8 forums - a website dedicated to all things Audi R8.

    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join Audi R8 Forum : Audi R8 forums today!
     
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Scam?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    721

    Scam?

    Hi

    I just saw this on ebay:

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Audi-R8-T3T4-T...item3ca2f45879

    Guessing its a scam?

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Audi R8 Forum
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Idaho/new york/england for christmas :)
    Posts
    491

    Re: Scam?

    doubt its a scam its just a really cheap turbo, intercooler set up.
    The kits missing a few items.
    R8s have twin turbo set ups not single I'm sure it could be done.
    You would also need to rework the exhaust as you would need somewhere to vent the wastegate(s)

    You could build your own kit using decent parts for around £3000-£5000 run a lot more than 450hp I would say 600+ don't know how much the engine can take.

    Its a big job tho.
    Last edited by drifting; 03-16-2011 at 03:31 AM.

  4. #3
    Senior Member FiftyPence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Guernsey, home of Jenson Button
    Posts
    1,045

    Re: Scam?

    Suggest you buy it and let us know how you get on.

  5. #4
    Senior Member ignomini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    385

    Re: Scam?

    I have been in the supercharger business for over decade, selling against turbo kits for Hondas and Miatas. You can't even build a single turbo kit for a four cylinder, that works, for that price. I'll hold short of calling it a scam, but it will lead to tears. That giant sucking sound you hear is all the money draining out of your wallet trying to make this turd work.

  6. #5
    Senior Member R8Spyderman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Sanibel, FL and Woodstock, VT
    Posts
    872

    Re: Scam?

    If something looks or sounds too good to be true, it probably is.
    "There are old men and there are bold men, but there are very few bold old men."

  7. #6
    LAT
    LAT is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    336

    Re: Scam?

    It costs that much to rebuild each of the turbos on my Porsche 993TT.
    My 2 cents, RUN
    Levino

    2010 Audi R8 V10 6SPD Phantom Black, MTM tuned, Supersprint exhaust
    1997 C4 Cabriolet, Arctic Silver, Aerokit, RS Tuning cats, 292 PS
    1996 993TT Polar Silver, RS Tuning, 531 PS, 800 NM

    2008 BMW M5 6SPD DD

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    1,063

    Re: Scam?

    Quote Originally Posted by ignomini View Post
    I have been in the supercharger business for over decade, selling against turbo kits for Hondas and Miatas. You can't even build a single turbo kit for a four cylinder, that works, for that price. I'll hold short of calling it a scam, but it will lead to tears. That giant sucking sound you hear is all the money draining out of your wallet trying to make this turd work.
    Why is the supercharger kit costing well north of $20K? trying to recoup the investment for a low quantity run?

    http://www.magnusonproducts.com seems to be the manufacturer of the VF supercharger but they don't list the car on the site, maybe VF has an exclusive with them
    Last edited by M3R8; 03-16-2011 at 10:04 AM. Reason: corrected wrong manufacturer

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    721

    Re: Scam?

    Thats what I thought, had no intention of buying it, found it while searching ebay. I would love to supercharge my car but $30,000 is 2 steep. Shame there isnt an option for around the $15,000 mark.

  10. #9
    Senior Member CALBenzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    453

    Re: Scam?

    Here is an R8 superchargersystem for $44.
    2009 Silver/Black V10 MT; De-Chromed; Carbon Fiber Exterior Package, Lighted CF Sills, CF Sideblades, CF Engine Trim, CF Steering Wheel, CF Mirrors, CF Door Handles and CF Interior Inlays; Enhanced Leather; Alcantara Headliner; Black Optic Grille; Meisterschaft GT Racing Titanium Exhaust; APR ECU Remap; Sprintbooster; H&R Lowered; Clear bra; and HRE P43s

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Idaho/new york/england for christmas :)
    Posts
    491

    Re: Scam?

    I don't understand it at all.

    All you need is: two HX35 or HX40 turbos.
    2 X HX35 or HX40 turbos.
    1 x HKS or high quality intercooler with custom pipe work.
    2 x induction kits (blitz sonic power would sound amazing on it).
    1 x electric boost controller.
    2 x wastegates
    2 x twin stroll flanges(guess it wouldn't matter so much?)
    few metres of of braided hoses
    3in custom stainless steel pipe work for speed keep it short. If you want show off leave it long with boxes all shiny .
    nuts, bolts, silicone pipe, other bits and bobs.

    A lot of fab work and huge remapping session you should have 750-1000bhp I would have through

    still I think the supercharger would be better in the R8 That would cost more as superchargers aren't cheap.
    Last edited by drifting; 03-16-2011 at 11:04 AM.

  12. Remove Advertisements
    Audi R8 Forum
    Advertisements
     

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Similar Threads

  1. Scam or a great deal
    By spoileralert in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 05-25-2011, 12:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.1.2