Max Width Tires Front and Back

1. Welcome to Audi R8 Forum : Audi R8 forums – General discussion forum for Audi R8

Welcome to Audi R8 Forum : Audi R8 forums - a website dedicated to all things Audi R8.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join Audi R8 Forum : Audi R8 forums today!

Thread: Max Width Tires Front and Back

Max Width Tires Front and Back

Hey everyone, I am new to the R8 community! Picking up my 2017 R8 Plus from the current owner this weekend and I am pumped. I live in Chicago, and daily my cars with winter tires when it snows. I have a basically new set of Pirelli snow tires from my old car, and I was curious to know what the max tire size is that will fit on the stock 20" rims. The size of my tires is 285/30/20 on all four corners. How does the R8 do with a squared setup? Anybody run it? I always have run square setups on my 4WD cars and it increased handling capabilities dramatically. Hoping its the same with the R8. If the 285s don't fit on the stock wheels, than what is the max width and offset allowed on the front end of an R8? Will it handle 20x10s in the front with 285 rubber?

Worst case, I have to sell these and get another set of wheels and tires entirely. They are almost new and cost quite a bit, so I was hoping to salvage them!

I appreciate any input.

2. Remove Advertisements
    Audi R8 Forum
    Advertisements

I know on a stock gen 1 car 265 will NOT fit.
    '04 A8L and '09 R8 R-Tronic, Ice Silver, Limestone Grey, Carbon Side-blades, Engine and Interior, Premium package, B&O, Upgrade leather, Navigation Plus

In the front.