Audi R8 Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have been using my server to scrape the internet for about a six months now trying to nail down the pricing of 2014-2015 R8’s. The prices shown are the lowest in the listing before it was taken down. The assumption would be that the real sale price is a tiny bit lower. In some cases I was in conversations with the seller at the time of sale so I know the actual sale price. The raw data sheet also houses current active listings under $100K. My data does seam to follow Car Gurus data but their 2015 data set is broken some how. Salvage and Rebuilt data are mostly from CoPart.

Updated 9/23/2020

Car Gurus Market Value:

Raw data can be found here:

·
Premium Member
4,437 Posts
Probably one of the biggest challenges from a data science perspective is just the very small data sets. It's true, in general, of ALL R8s on sale (only ~6,500 Gen-1 cars came to the US over all model years - coupes, spyders, V8s, V10s, manuals, autos, etc.), but it's especially true of the facelift years - there were only two model years (2014 and 2015), and these were very low production. I want to say there were something like less than 500 total 2015's sold (less than half of a peak year like 2011 and the lowest of ALL years by far), and again that was across all body styles, engines, transmissions, trims. I expect the data points can be quite wide as a result.

Aside from being far lower production (and rarer as a result), the facelift cars added several desirable changes including:
  • S-Tronic DCT replaced the R-Tronic. This was largely hailed as the most important change as it gave the R8 a truly modern and fantastic DCT.
  • "Extended Leather" package replaced with "Full Leather" package. Audi added stitched leather to the navigation surround, the center tunnel, parking brake, etc - really now leaving no sign of any plastics and feels even more upscale.