Audi R8 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
10 R8 V8 Coupe, Black, R-Tronic, REV9 Exhaust, Carbon Upgrade, Ceramic brake & GT wheels
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi All,

First time poster & ill start with what a awesome community this!

I've owned my R8 for 2 years now & as I am sure all of you agree, the one thing that has always bugged me is the note that comes out of the stock exhaust (mine also had a very irritable rattle inside the muffler on cold start).

After doing abit of research, I bit the bullet & ordered myself a REV9 Stainless steel exhaust from the US. It cost me roughly $1800.00 AUD including shipping & I decided to install the exhaust myself. (I am not a mechanic & have minimal mechanical knowledge but I am a tradesman & very experienced with tools). Having said this I used the below thread which was AMAZING! The only thing that it doesn't tell you is that there are 4 more T30 screws (2 each side) that hold the bumper on inside the wheel arches (Doesn't show you how to take out & rebuild the exhaust in the existing heat shield)

For us Australian residents the R8 doesn't come with a Jack or jack pad (well at least mine didn't) so i bought myself a Kincrome low profile jack from my local super cheap & a Audi Jack pad from: PF3-1660 - Audi Bushes, Audi R8 Bushes, Audi R8 Jack Pad Adaptor - Powerflex Australia
Because of this set up i didn't have to drive the car onto blocks, i was able to jack one side up, place the jack stands under, lower the jack & repeat the other side.

I took my time, numbered each step, bagged/labelled all parts removed & took photos throughout the whole process.

The installation was seemless, the exhaust was easy to rebuild in the existing heat shield & the exhaust fit like a dream. I used the below video as direction to remove the exhaust, which was extremely helpful.