Audi R8 Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2015 Audi R8 V10 | S-Tronic | Ibis White - Blackout | Carbon Blades Engine bay, Trim | Sport Exhaust
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
100% track noob here, go easy please.

Finally got to take my Gen1 R8 to COTA this past weekend with edge-addicts. What a phenomenal time. First track experience so I was in Intro class but was able to push the car pretty hard. Took prep very seriously had car looked over and actually drove 350 miles to COTA.

Two things I observed. I am on PZeros which are about 2 years old w 5k miles on them. At the end of session 2(lap 12-13 of 50 min track time that day) they were absolutely mush. Sliding everywhere. The Pzeros have been great for me on street driving, but after this I don't think I'd ever run Pzeros again if I needed to do track time. Is this behavior an age of tire thing or is this a Pzero thing? I'm going to buy new tires in a few months when I get new wheels and have been leaning towards the Micheline Pilot line.

Second my brake pedal is MUCH stiffer after the track time. Drove home after the event about 350 miles and stopping power was there as normal but the the brake pedal was just quite a bit stiffer than pre event.

She is due an oil change by mileage in a month or so, so may get the brake system serviced as well.

Any other thoughts?

Thanks so much this forum is absolutely fantastic.

Tire Vehicle Car Automotive lighting Grille

·
Registered
4,581 Posts
If you intend to do more track days in the future it would pay you to change the brake fluid to something like Motul M600 or Castrol SRF.

When it comes to tyres, P Zero's are not the best but just about any road tyre is going to melt after a good few laps. You might want to consider getting a second set of wheels and fitting something along the lines of Michelin Pilot Cup 2.

Reactions: tekn0lust and DaveL

·
Chassis/Vehicle Dynamics Engineer
393 Posts
100% track noob here, go easy please.