Audi R8 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2017 R8 and I noticed after driving my friends R8 his navigation screen looks just like google earth that is on my phone showing detailed real shots unlike mine that shows a generic colorful computer image of the road. How do I switch mine to look like google earth? I went into the setting and changed it to google earth but still looks the same?

·
Registered
1,086 Posts
Also you need a data connection for the car via a SIM. Also, I believe the 2017 will no longer support Google Maps soon IIRC from what I read somewhere a while back.

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Working SIM card? Im new to this where do I go to obtain this? Is this like the normal SIM cards that goin the computer? after buying that how do I download the map overlay?

·
Premium Member
2017 Audi R8
44 Posts
If your car is preowned, call Audi connect and they will send you a new sim card. Once ypu get that (5 business days). You can sign up/log into audi connect and activate your sim card (cellular @ $25 a month) and have certain features in you car also via your phone.

·
Registered
1,086 Posts
If your car is preowned, call Audi connect and they will send you a new sim card. Once ypu get that (5 business days). You can sign up/log into audi connect and activate your sim card (cellular @ $25 a month) and have certain features in you car also via your phone.
You can use any company's SIM card I do not believe you need one specially from Audi.

Also, I can't find the "official" article in five seconds of google searching but come this December, Google Maps via Earth will not work anymore.

·
Premium Member
2017 Audi R8
44 Posts
True, I took my T Mobile card out out of S4 and it worked in the R8. But when I talked to Audi Connect, they said that should not have worked and said only AT&T will work ??‍♂. All I know is I got my new card (AT&T) and everything is good ?

·
Registered
121 Posts