Audi R8 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
In Manila when they say a storm is coming a storm will really come. It gets really slippery here when its rainy. I am gonna get my R8 next year but I just wanna know if the R8's quattro AWD system will still keep me out of trouble even if it is rear biased. :(

Why are AWD cars with really close specs to it's RWD opponent (e.g. Porsche 911 Carrera S and Audi R8 4.2) somewhat slower in a drag race. And what do they mean when they say the AWD system will bog down?

·
Premium Member
1,034 Posts
I'm no engineer, but I'll attempt some of your questions.

Audi literature says power distribution to the front wheels is normally 15% but can vary between 10% and 35%. Probably quite adequate for that "planted on the ground" feeling you get with other Quattro Audis in wet or slippery conditions.

My R8 driving experience is limited to a track day @ Infineon Raceway with the Audi Sportscar Experience. During some of the skidpad exercises before we went onto the track, it was interesting to see that efforts to provoke wheelspin on dry pavement typically broke all 4 loose at once!

From my dry track experience and what I've read, I suspect most of the owners will tell you that their R8's are solid as a rock in the rain. Of course,
all cars with wide performance tires need to be wary of hydroplaneing in standing water.

I think the "bogging down" on take-off from a standstill is, at least to some slight degree, a feature of ALL all-wheel drive cars, in comparison to otherwise similar cars with rear-wheel drive. There's just twice as much drive-line rotating mass to get spun up. Again, from my experience at Infineon in 6-speed manuals, the R8 doesn't seem to suffer much "bog" if you "launch" with