Audi R8 Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2022 model here, and I'm still pretty new to this car.. Mostly I've driven a mix of gentle with moments of hard (near full or full throttle) driving.

But yesterday I drove my car harder than usual, did a lot of full throttle pulls and did a lot of my own paddle shifting, plenty of backfires, etc. And reached........inappropriate speeds.

My question is, is my car going to be able to handle this? I was always told when I owned my 911 that a 911 is meant to be driven hard.

How about this car? Thanks for any feedback :)

·
Registered
5,425 Posts
Just get the temperatures up to normal first and then drive it as hard as you like. These engines use stock internals when they are used in racing and Ricky REP also keeps the internals stock with his stage 1 & 2 twin turbo conversions - in other words, up to about 1000 bhp.

·
Registered
992 Posts
Every time you start the car, you're wearing away components whether you drive it hard or not.

These cars are BUILT for this and as Trev says, the stock power is conservative. Don't even have second thoughts about driving it hard just watch your temperatures and keep up with maintenance.

I reach around ~235F on oil at the track, which really isn't that bad especially when you compare it to the "normal" ~300F my Z06 used to see. I do my oil around every 1-2k miles to refresh the additives in the oil and keep everything healthy.

·
Registered
992 Posts
^ Wow, you change your oil that frequently? I was planning to stick with the standard oil change schedule (yearly or 10k miles, whichever comes sooner)
Yeah but only because I track it. Blackstone labs will, hopefully, give me the same response as always "you're changing your oil too frequently - it's still good."

·
Premium Member
5,828 Posts