Audi R8 Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
My name is Jason Rhoades and I'm an autocrosser. I've been competing in the big SCCA National-level autocross events for several years. In that time I've had good success in tuning and driving cars - in the 5 trips to the National Championships the cars I've competed in have finished 3rd, 1st, 10th, 1st, and 1st - myself as a driver, I finished way back the first year, then 4th, 10th, 3rd, and 1st. For those of you who know how tough the SCCA National Championships can be, you can see those are pretty good finishes. Some of the cars I've competed in are the Honda S2000, a Honda Civic, a 650+hp modified Z06, a modified Nissan 240sx, and most recently, my Dodge Viper.

The Viper competes in the sport's premier class, "Super Stock". When I chose the Viper, the other hot cars in the class were the Porsche GT3, Lotus Elise, and Corvette Z06. In the Stock category, we are only allowed to improve a few things on the car - we can change our OEM tires out for R-compound, DOT-approved race tires like the Hoosier A6 or Kumho V710. We can also change our front sway bar, shocks (must keep stock springs and ride height), cat-back exhaust, and we can replace wheels, but they must be the same diameter and width as stock, with offset within 1/4". You can also adjust alignment, tire pressures, and change fluids.