Audi R8 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All!

My name is Scott Ahlman, President of Ahlman Performance LLC and I am new to AudiR8Talk. We are also a new owner of a 2012 Audi R8 V10 manual for suspension development work on this car as well as chassis related videos on and off of the road/track - coming soon! I will start joining the chassis related threads (suspension, shocks, wheels, tires, weight, etc) right away!

My background - My childhood passion and focus led me to a chassis/vehicle dynamics design and development career for the past 25 years including so many incredible opportunities at the top of IndyCar and NASCAR as well as high performance cars like the R8 (Greater detail on our results and my background can be seen at AhlmanPerformance.com)

My professional career started Ford Motor Company in 1994 as a chassis/vehicle dynamics engineer for 12 years, which was highlighted by:
Chassis Design and Ride and Handling Development Engineer for Ford Light Truck.

○ Ford's only Vehicle Dynamics Engineer for the Ford Craftsman Truck teams in 1995.

Vehicle Dynamics Engineer for Team Rahal in ChampCar CART for 5 years working with drivers Bobby Rahal, Bryan Herta, Kenny Brack and Max Papis.
This is where my 25 year relationship with Ohlins started since Team Rahal ran Ohlins at the time and they sent me to Ohlins shock school in Sweden.

Chassis Design and development of the 2005-2006 Ford GT for 4 years. I was one of the four who led the chassis design side (suspension geometry and bushings, tires, the coil-overs, bars and control arms).
After my design work I was also a ride and handling development engineer on the GT due to my driving background and certification at Ford.

• I left Ford to start Ahlman Engineering in 2006 where I spent the IndyCar season as a Vehicle Dynamics Engineer for Rahal Lettermen Lanigan with drivers Danica Patrick and Buddy Rice.