Audi R8 Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a total Porsche driver.....had 6 and have raced Porsches. Current one is a 911 Turbo.

I'm on the list for R8......#1 position. Question is whether the car is compelling enough to boot my Porsches. I like what I see......but the question looms as I get closer to placing my order.

Help !

·
Registered
647 Posts
If you are die hard Porsche fan R8 will not be for you. Honest answer from me.
I owned 987 Boxster S and have tried new 997 Turbo. Awsome power, specially as manual(TIP is even faster in straight line but, it is not for me) and great straight line acceleration. Traction(new PTM system) is not the very best and 997 Turbo is pretty prone to oversteer, specially if you use Sport mode of SC package. 997 Turbo is more expensive(at least in Europe) and will be build in far great numbers then R8. Also there is a difference in NA vs. Turbo engine. 997 Turbo engine, although very responsive for biturbo still features turbo lag(truth, smaller then before). R8 engine is like RS4 engine NA with excellenth throttle respone and is very eager for revs.
Since looks is pretty subjective thing you need to decide what is important to you. Rear engine sportscar or mid engine sportscar? Turbo or NA engine?
My first choice is R8 but, I like and respect 997 Turbo a lot.
BTW, if you plan to track your new car a lot maybe something like 997 GT3RS is a better choice for you...

·
Registered
367 Posts
Some reasons why I will likely trade in my 996TT for the R8: