Audi R8 Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi to you all,

Im a newbie and this is my first post!

Firstly, can I just say this forum has been a great help, as I've been reading for the last couple of weeks, so good job to all of you members, keep it up!

I ordered my White R-tronic R8 about a month ago and I was lucky enough to get a cancelled order and thus, the beauty is being picked up this Sunday!!! sorry to rub it in for all those who waited months or are waiting, Im a lucky B****** i know!!

Its an Ibis white R-tronic with carbon sigma sides, interestingly its got the new full LED headlight, a rediculously expensive option I feel, but I had no choice in the extras and took the car on as I'm impatient and didnt want to wait 9 months.

I basically wanted advice on a couple of issues:

1) from what Ive read, getting the paint protection film is a good idea, I know most ppl who have had it done seem to fully stand by it, its just that being a white car, any users experienced discolouration? or the yellowing that seems to be a negative point of these products ventureshield/paintshield?? Ive spoken to Tom at paintshield due the good reviews Ive heard and he said its unlikely to happen but wanted to see if any white car owners share his view? and also, how about problems washing the car with the film on it?

2) GAP insurance?? dont want to get it from the dealer, so any recommended company as there are so many around?? also will return to invoice gap (which I want to go for) cover the extra ~£15K of extras on the car?? or is it just the standard equipment??