Audi R8 Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2009 R8
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone facelift a gen 1 steering wheel to the push to start one? I saw on youtube a couple from other countries has. Anyone here do it yet?

·
Registered
340 Posts
I'm doing this soon. I have a TAW customs carbon gen2 steering wheel which I'm going to retrofit to my gen1.

I'm no electrician so I'll be getting a local expert called 'Audi Retrofits' to do it for me.

My understanding is that the start/stop button can be programmed but the manual key needs to be obviously be inserted and turned so the start/stop is a bit pointless.

I plan to get the other buttons programmed with key functions; eg 1) drive select will toggle sport mode, 2) exhaust button will toggle the valves on my exhaust, and 3) chequered flag button will toggle my air cup front lift.

·
Registered
103 Posts
I'm doing this soon. I have a TAW customs carbon gen2 steering wheel which I'm going to retrofit to my gen1.

I'm no electrician so I'll be getting a local expert called 'Audi Retrofits' to do it for me.

My understanding is that the start/stop button can be programmed but the manual key needs to be obviously be inserted and turned so the start/stop is a bit pointless.

I plan to get the other buttons programmed with key functions; eg 1) drive select will toggle sport mode, 2) exhaust button will toggle the valves on my exhaust, and 3) chequered flag button will toggle my air cup front lift.

Checking in to see how this has progressed?

·
Registered
340 Posts
Checking in to see how this has progressed?
Hi mate, no progress yet bud I had to divert my attention to other parts for my full LMS conversion. The place I found could only offer retrofit with the multifunction buttons working - so no satellite buttons.

However I did email Alex at Europrice just a few days ago as I know he's working on a pre-packaged plug and play module. He confirmed: