Audi R8 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 109 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi,

After spending a lot of time googling this issue I can see I am far from the only person who would love a solution to the stock “a4 like” key we all have for our car.

What I do for a living puts me in a position where making an updated housing for the key is possible and I’d like some feedback on what others would want if it was made available in a limited run.

The design modelling and production costs make it too expensive to make just 2 keys for myself so I’d be looking at making something like 200-300 key housings.

The new housing would essentially replace these elements of the stock key and house the oem internals.

Material finish will be high quality, I am hoping a large portion of the key can be made up from 2 aluminium CNC clam shells.

I have a couple of things that I’d like to ask if that’s ok?

Has anyone found a supplier who can offer an upgraded or updated key housing? I have seen a few companies talk of doing it but nothing happened.

In terms of ideal housing I was thinking one of the two options below modified to fit the blade of our existing key and have a similar button layout to the existing key allowing the boards to be swapped over. Which do people prefer?

Would people prefer a totally unique more bespoke design? I kind of feel like I’d prefer something more oem looking but as it looks like I would have to sell some to cover the production costs I’m obviously open to ideas. This could be an opportunity to make a really exotic key for our cars.

Any feedback is welcome, thanks for your time.

EDITED - adding this image of the current design concept to save people scrolling through the thread

·
Registered
184 Posts
What about a key in the shape of the letter "R" and number "8"? Ive been waiting for someone (other than Porsche) to make a key that isn't an oblong boring keyfob and instead represents the model.

·
Registered
8 Posts