Audi R8 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello there, I searched around and I did not find a thread summarizing what to look for when shopping for pre-owned R8 so I figured I would start my own. I half expected there to be a pinned topic on the matter, but here we go....

A little about me:
I am a highly competent mechanic and have been taking care of various BMW's all of my life. I admit this is my first venture into the Audi world, therefore I really do not know much about them. I do not mind getting the hands dirty, in fact, ideally, I want to take care of the car on my own with little to no outside mechanical help.

Why an R8?

I have always wanted a v10 vehicle. I was tempted by the BMW 2006 era M6 v10's but from what I understand it is an absolute nightmare to take care of with costly internal breakdowns being the norm (and they are just getting too old at this point). On the other hand, based on my preliminary research, v10 R8 engine seems to be more reliable and less prone to crazy breakdowns. It also seems like it can also be a reasonable daily driver.

What I know so far when shopping?
  • Go for a manual gated transmission. Although I may need to replace the clutch at some point there are some awesome kits out there. If the automatic transmission model breaks down it can be a bit of a costly ****-show as I understand. This works for me as I really miss the feel of a manual transmission.
  • Look for hairline stress cracks on the upper frame front end. It typically means the car is totaled or is on its way to being totaled. Did they fix this in later years?
  • Oil changes look like lots of fun, lots of drain points etc etc.
  • I am trying to keep the cost under 100k (80k would be nice)
Questions:
  • Is there specific (oldest) year I should shoot for where major revisions were made?